Howard Ferguson’s Five Bagatelles, Op. 9 Saki Murotani November 4, 2020



Shima Iuchi


Akina Yura


Saki Murotani


Kaleidoscope MusArt

Echos of Time: 2020-2021 Virtual Concert Season "Peeks into the Infinite I"
Howard Ferguson's Five Bagatelles, Op. 9

Peeks into the Infinite I is the first of two programs celebrating the 250th birth year of Ludwig van Beethoven by exploring the genre of the Bagatelle, from Beethoven to the modern day. A Bagatelle, by definition, is something trivial and minute. In Beethoven’s hands, it transcended these connotations, becoming a medium to express ideas ranging from profoundly philosophical to humorous and aphoristic. The title of the program refers to bagatelles as snapshots of infinitely-varied psychological states. Composers have continued to explore these musical forms in every generation following Beethoven.

Digital 2D
Stills from animation

1st Movement

2nd Movement

3rd Movement

4th Movement

5th Movement